Member Panel

Your Profile

Manage Your Profile

Manage Your Publications


Useful Links

Internal Documentation

Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics 2015

Nov. 10, 2014

IST alumni in the research team that received the Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics -2015.

The surprising discovery that the Universe is in an accelerated expansion receives the 3 million dolars of the Breakthrough Prize 2015

This prize was awarded to the Supernova Cosmology Project, led by Saul Perlmutter, and to the High-z Supernova Serach Team, led by Brian Schmidt and Adam Riess.

Nelson Nunes and Patricia Castro, participated in this discovery while being IST students, in a project managed by Prof. Ana Mourão of the Physics Department and CENTRA,therefore their names and IST come in the list of awarded.